Connect with us

Sports

#GamecockHoops: 2017-2018 Conference Schedule Released

Gamecocks to host nine SEC games next year – including Kentucky and Florida.

Published

on

The University of South Carolina men’s basketball team will host nine Southeastern Conference (SEC) games next season at Colonial Life Arena in downtown Columbia, S.C. – including matchups against LSU, Missouri, Tennessee, Mississippi State, and Auburn, 2017 NIT participant Georgia, and 2017 NCAA Tournament participants Florida, Kentucky and Vanderbilt.

That’s according to the SEC schedule released this week … South Carolina will release its full slate of non-conference games later this year.

Here is the Gameocks’ conference slate for the coming season …

Sun., December 31 at Ole Miss
Wed., January 3 Missouri
Sat., January 6 Vanderbilt
Tue., January 9 at Alabama
Sat., January 13 at Georgia
Tue., January 16 Kentucky
Sat., January 20 Tennessee
Wed, January 24 at Florida
Wed, January 31 Mississippi State
Sat., February 3 at Texas A&M
Tue., February 6 at Arkansas
Sat., February 10 Florida
Tue., February 13 at Tennessee
Sat., February 17 Auburn
Wed, February 21 Georgia
Sat., February 24 at Mississippi State
Wed, February 28 LSU
Sat., March 3 at Auburn

Last year, South Carolina won its first NCAA tournament game in more than four decades under fifth-year head coach Frank Martin.

After that, upsets of Duke and Baylor put the Gamecocks in the Elite Eight – where they defeated SEC rival Florida to advance to the program’s first ever Final Four.

Martin will have his hands full duplicating that success, though, as star guards Sindarius Thornwell and PJ Dozier will be playing in the National Basketball Association (NBA) this season.  Meanwhile rising sophomore guard Rakym Felder has been suspended indefinitely from the program after his latest brush with the law.

South Carolina’s 2017-18 season ticket renewal deadline is set for September 13.  Fans interested in purchasing season tickets for the upcoming campaign can place a deposit by visiting GamecocksOnline.com/Tickets, or by calling the school’s ticket office at 1-800-4SC-FANS.

***

WANNA SOUND OFF?

Got something you’d like to say in response to one of our stories? Please feel free to submit your own guest column or letter to the editor via-email HERE. Got a tip for us? CLICK HERE. Got a technical question? CLICK HERE.

Banner via Travis Bell Photography