Connect with us

More News

Release: Jeff Duncan Reintroduces Terrorist Deportation Act



February 3, 2017 (Washington, DC) – Congressman Jeff Duncan today re-filed legislation to kick suspected terrorists out of the country.  H.R. 844, the Terrorist Deportation Act, would make anyone that law enforcement officials have placed in the Terrorist Screening Database (TSDB) who isn’t a citizen or a permanent resident eligible for immediate and mandatory deportation proceedings. The legislation is very similar to legislation Duncan filed in September 2016.

“This new administration provides an opportunity for us to get serious about securing our country again and to get tough with the terrorists who threaten the safety of our citizens,” Duncan said. “My bill will make it harder for suspected terrorists to come to America and easier for our law enforcement and counterterrorism professionals to remove suspected terrorists who are already here.”

Under current procedures, when law enforcement officials have reasonable grounds of suspicion that a person might be a terrorist, they enter that person into the Terrorist Screening Database. The TSDB is estimated to have roughly one million people listed, of whom around 5 percent are US persons (defined as either citizens or permanent residents). The bill first makes those listed in the TSDB inadmissible into the country, then makes those who are in the country eligible for mandatory expedited deportation proceedings.  The bill also creates a due process hearing for those on the TSDB who may have been placed there by mistake.

“It is important to note that this legislation will provide a legal avenue for those mistakenly in the terrorist database and the related no-fly list,” Duncan added. “While we are making America safer for our citizens, we must also do everything we can to protect the rights of American citizens who are mistakenly caught up in terror investigations. My legislation seeks to achieve that balance point.”

The bill has nine original cosponsors from around the country: Lou Barletta (PA), Doug LaMalfa (CA), Lee Zeldin (NY), Paul Gosar (AZ), Steve King (IA), Tom McClintock (CA), Brian Babin (AZ), Dave Brat (VA), and Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO).


(Editor’s Note: The above communication is a news release from an elected official and does not necessarily reflect the editorial position of To submit your letter, news release, email blast, media advisory or issues statement for publication, click here).

Banner via U.S. House