Connect with us

News Releases

Sixteen Candidates File For SC First District




Columbia, S.C.- 16 Republican candidates have filed in the special election for South Carolina’s 1st U.S. Congressional District. The candidates will meet in the March 19, 2013 Republican Primary. A runoff (if necessary) would be held on April 2, 2013 and the general election is May 7, 2013.

“We have a strong field of candidates to replace our Republican rockstar, Sen. Tim Scott. After all votes are cast, our party will stand united behind the primary winner. I have no doubt that a South Carolina Republican will continue to represent the 1st district in Congress,” said SCGOP Chairman Chad Connelly.

Republican candidates filing for the 1st Congressional District:

Keith Blanford
Curtis Bostic
Ric Bryant
Larry Grooms
Jonathan Hoffman
Jeff King
John Kuhn
Tim Larkin
Chip Limehouse
Peter McCoy
Elizabeth Moffly
Ray Nash
Andy Patrick
Shawn Pinkston
Mark Sanford
Teddy Turner


Editor’s Note: The above communication is a news release that does not necessarily reflect the editorial position of To submit your letter, news release, email blast, media advisory or issues statement for publication, click here).