Connect with us
Pawleys Best Burger

More News

SC Club For Growth Releases 2015-2016 Legislative Scorecards



COLUMBIA, S.C. – Facing an increasing threat of anti-growth legislation in the State House, the South Carolina Club for Growth Foundation released its 2015-2016 Legislative Scorecards. Of the 170 lawmakers in the General Assembly, 6 senators and 3 representative scored an “A,” earning them the Taxpayer Hero Award from the conservative group. Conversely, 25 senators and 90 representatives earned the dubious distinction of Taxpayer Zero, having scored an “F.”

Senate Taxpayer Heroes                                           

Tom Young

Chip Campsen

Tom Davis

Ross Turner

Kevin Bryant

Larry Grooms

House of Representative Taxpayer Heroes

Jonathon Hill

Ralph Norman

Eric Bedingfield

Scorecards can be found by clicking here.

The South Carolina Club for Growth Foundation scored 18 House votes and 19 Senate votes from the 2015-2016 legislative session, including votes on ethics reform, taxes, wasteful spending, and the adjournment of the General Assembly.

Scores are based on a thorough analysis of the thousands of votes taken last session with a focus on the budget process, government reform and restructuring, and pro or anti-growth policies.

A pro-growth vote received the maximum number of points, while a vote against the pro-growth position received no points. In certain circumstances, points were deducted from legislators for changing a vote. If a legislator went on record as abstaining from a vote – due to a conflict of interest – that vote was not factored into their total score.

The SC Club for Growth Foundation Scorecard only looks at votes on the floor of the Senate and House or Representatives. It does not take into consideration a legislator’s work outside of the chambers.


(Editor’s Note: The above communication is a news release from an advocacy organization and does not necessarily reflect the editorial position of To submit your letter, news release, email blast, media advisory or issues statement for publication, click here).