Connect with us

News Releases

SC House Democrats Elect New Leader



sc democratic caucus

Columbia, SC – Members of the House Democratic Caucus met on Tuesday and elected Rep. Todd Rutherford to be its new leader. Former Minority Leader Rep. Harry Ott announced on Saturday he would not be seeking re-election to the leadership post.

Newly-elected Minority Leader Rep. Rutherford released the following statement in response to his election:

“I am honored to be chosen by my colleagues to lead House Democrats in a new, and hopefully more successful direction. I want to personally thank Representative Harry Ott for his many years of service to this caucus. Rep. Ott has done an outstanding job as our leader and will remain an integral part of our decision making process. I look forward to getting down to work to expand our numbers and elect more Democrats to the House.”

House Democrats also elected Reps. Walt McLeod as Assistant Minority Leader, James Smith as Deputy Leader, Laurie Funderburk as Treasurer, David Weeks as Parliamentarian, and Kenneth Hodges as Chaplain.


Editor’s Note: The above communication is a news release that does not necessarily reflect the editorial position of To submit your letter, news release, email blast, media advisory or issues statement for publication, click here).