Print this Page

peyton manning mvp

Indianapolis Colts’ quarterback Peyton Manning won his fourth National Football League MVP award on Saturday – becoming the first player in NFL history to win the honor four times.

The voting – which is conducted by fifty sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the league – wasn’t even close, with Manning receiving 39.5 votes compared to 7.5 votes for New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees.

Manning also won the MVP award in 2003, 2004 and 2008.

It’s been another record-breaking season for the Colts QB, who was named our athlete of the decade here at FITS.

Manning threw for 4,500 yards (the second-highest total of his career) and 33 touchdowns – despite seeing limited playing time in the final two games of the year as the Colts pulled their starters to prepare for the playoffs.

We’ve expressed our displeasure … no, disgust … with that decision, which cost Manning and his teammates a shot at becoming the first NFL squad since the 1972 Miami Dolphins to go undefeated.  It’s also been a prelude to disappointing playoff performances, unlike the 2006 season – in which Manning and the Colts played all the way through and wound up winning the Super Bowl.

Obviously, Manning had nothing to do with that decision and from the look on his face standing on the sideline he was just as pissed off about it as we were.

Anyway, props to Peyton … who in addition to his gaudy numbers led the Colts to seven come-from-behind wins in 2009, including a memorable 35-34 win over New England in November.