Print this Page

Indianapolis Colts’ quarterback Peyton Manning is the 2008 NFL MVP, winning a whopping 32 out of 50 votes to capture the honor for a record third time in his career.

Mr. “Laser Rocket Arm,” as his commercials attest to, threw for 4,002 yards and 27 touchdowns in 2008, although he did finish the year with his lowest passer rating in six seasons.

Early on, it looked as though Manning and the Colts might not even make the playoffs.

They started the season 3-4 with Manning struggling due to a pair of off-season surgeries to his knee.

Indy caught fire after a Week 8 loss to the Tennessee Titans, though, and ripped off nine consecutive wins.

Manning joins New York Jets quarterback Brett Favre as the only player to win the award three times, sharing it with former Tennessee quarterback Steve McNair in 2003 and winning it outright in 2004, when he set the NFL record with a 121.0 passer rating.

He also remains our founding editor’s man crush and the namesake of the FITS family mascot.